Happy Birthday Young People Insight


This month, the youth platform I started, Young People Insight, turned a year old. I can’t believe how fast a year has gone and what I’ve been able to achieve, although they don’t always seem like major achievements to me.

I’m proud of what I started and I hope it continues to grow, empowering the voices of young people and having a positive impact on their lives. This poem is simply a reflection of where my creative baby started from, as I say Happy Birthday to Young People Insight.

Young People Insight

My baby;

Born out of a time of confusion,

Searching for fulfillment,

Something better,

More special than I imagined

Came along.

Not what I planned,

Or expected,

It hit me by surprise;

But I knew I had to nurture it,

Feed it,

Give attention to it;

Although I didn’t ask for it,

Hadn’t planned for it,

I knew I wanted it,

Grew to love it;

In spite of the uncertainty,

Asking,

How would I do this?

Help and advice would be a necessity

For every step of this journey;

I knew I could do it.

So I took the first step,

Second step forward,

Bringing my baby to life;

Watching it develop,

Month after month,

More insight coming to mind.

Now my baby

Has turned a year old,

I can’t believe the first birthday is here;

Directions have changed,

Thought processes become clear

And new people in my life I’ve…

View original post 39 more words

Comment at Your Leisure

