People


Like a lot of my poems, ‘People’ was born out of struggles and sadness.  This poem was written during The Complete Freedom of Truth when I needed time to myself, and was inspired by situations from the past few months when I’ve really struggled to be around people and needed time to get my emotions together.

People.

I have a real love-hate thing

With people.

Sometimes loving people,

Sometimes not,

At times wanting to integrate with them,

Other times desperate to be away from them.

When I’m in the right setting,

In a good place within,

People bring me joy,

Put a smile on my face,

Leave my heart bursting,

With love.

Yet if I’m in a bad place,

Swimming in a sea of people

Is the worst possible thing;

Easily infuriated,

I don’t want to talk,

Wanting to cry,

At any fleeting moment.

Some people ask what’s wrong,

Might try to engage in conversation,

But barely any words get said,

Feelings kept hidden below.

I hate letting my guard down,

Letting others see my pain;

In those times,

Preparing to keep myself to myself,

As my own company is best,

Not offending,

Annoying anyone else,

Giving my emotions time to rest;

Because even if I reveal

How I feel

To them,

Would I express it correctly,

Would they truly understand?

People will be people,

That will never change,

But I can change my location,

Making sure I’m not in their way.

One comment

Comment at Your Leisure

