You Saw Me


You saw me;

You looked past my smile,

The one you said was beautiful,

And you saw me;

Looking past the mask

I wear so well,

You saw me.

You saw the sadness,

The pain I’ve felt,

All the heartbreak and anguish,

Going deeper than the surface

And seeing into my soul;

Not like so many others,

Who say I’m always happy,

You saw me,

The real me —

The real me

That most don’t get the chance,

Or take the time to see.

You saw me,

Taking me by surprise

In a way no one ever has before;

Instantly that connection was made.

Conversation flowed,

Stories were shared,

Somehow I opened up,

I never thought I would again.

You saw me,

Accepted me for everything I am,

Made me smile, cry and laugh,

Start believing I could open my heart again.

So much more

I wish I could have said to you,

But the past is the past;

I plan to meet you once more,

As you’re in my heart forever

And my love for you will always last,

Because you who saw me.

2 comments

Comment at Your Leisure

