Riding The Two-Week Emotional Roller Coaster


Up, down,

Round and round,

Not knowing what to think,

What to feel,

Taking me on a roller coaster of emotions.

Riding that roller coaster

Over the past two weeks,

On a journey more special

Than I ever imagined.

Surrounded by friends,

Old and new,

Further developing my extended family,

I was encircled by love,

Filling my heart to the full,

Falling in love with all around me.

In spite of this love,

I felt a sadness,

Pain cutting through my heart

With no way to stop it.

Grief hit me,

A sense of loneliness overtook me,

Feeling hurt by somebody,

Like an outsider around everybody.

Taking some time out,

Some time to recuperate,

I began to heal, smile

Grow, learn,

Embrace all that was going on around me.

 

Suddenly, believing love was possible again,

Laying myself bare for all to see,

Gaining a better understanding of who I was,

And what I could really be.

Overcome with sadness to be going home,

But filled with happiness and glee,

It was time for this ride to come to an end,

It had become a little too much for me.

I finished this ride feeling

Like I had at the start,

A little unsure,

Quite out-of-place,

A little despondent at heart;

Not looking at some the same way,

Feeling a bond had been broken,

Confused at how I got someone so wrong,

But not surprised, as they are human.

My feelings may have been the same,

But I was different,

Reacting, handling things in a better way,

This emotional roller coaster was truly special,

No one can ever take that away.

8 comments

      1. I have anxiety times 100. A lot can go wrong in the next 26 hours and I have too many variables that are out of my control. It’s making me physically ill

      2. Not really. I have a very flaky friend that was supposed to have items I was shipping stay at her house as she owes me and will ship it when I ask. She text me at 340am asking to come then. I asked several times when she would be here. We started talking this morning around 930 as she had a wake to go to. She disappeared and if she came here while my sister was home I would be screwed. I have been threatened with violence from my soon to be ex brother in law very early tomorrow and my sister’s bf is an attorney making tons of bs threats and said he will make sure I will not be able to leave the house in time for my flight and that I would be put on the no fly list. He can’t do that over the phone and would have to swear an affidavit and then his license would be reviewed. But I already have pending charges with me here and my sister in Las Vegas that he harassed until I posted his address and his parents public phones and he got scared.

Comment at Your Leisure

