Basking in the Happiness


On Saturday, my cousin told me that I looked happy, which came as a surprise, because I’d been feeling far from happy just a few days ago.  In that same week, I’d been crying my eyes out, feeling uneasy about myself and tiring of people.

However, as I stopped to think about it, I realised that I did feel happy on that day and in that moment.  Tomorrow might have been different and I might have found myself wrapped up in sadness again, but it didn’t make a difference, because I was happy in that moment.  I was actually taking the time to enjoy the present, which unfortunately isn’t something that I do very often.

I got to thinking about why I was feeling happy and it dawned on me that I was back in a place that where I felt comfortable and loved — a place that would always feel like home.  Stepping through the front doors and walking past the various rooms I was so familiar with, I was instantly hit with nostalgia that brought a huge smile to my face.

This was my home away from home, the house where I spent so many hours of my teenage and early adult years, with so many of the people who I love and adore.  Countless memories were made here that will stay in my mind forever, filled with joy, emotion and laughter.  The fun movie nights, crazy sleepovers and huge gatherings, which had the house overflowing with noise.

Despite meaning to visit, I hadn’t been to my home away from home in years, so returning to celebrate the birthday of one of the people I love and call family was the perfect opportunity.  I was surprised to see that so much changed, but much to my comfort, so much had remained the same.

Although time has moved forward and things have changed, the memories I have from that house will forever stay the same — thinking about them will never fail to bring joy to my heart and put a smile on my face.

Really, all I’m trying to say, is that it was nice to be back in a place that felt like home and bask in the good times, which is something that will always cause a sense of happiness to well up within me.

Comment at Your Leisure

