Send the Rain


Every so often, I hear a gospel song that instantly captivates my heart and sends a huge surge of emotion through me.  I’ll sing the lyrics with passion exuding through my body and if I’m feeling a certain way, hearing that song will bring tears to my eyes.

Right now, that song is Send the Rain by William McDowell, which I think is one of the most powerful, striking songs I’ve ever had the privilege to hear.  Send the Rain is my go-to song at the moment, bringing me a lot of much-needed comfort in the past month.  It is a song that is all about needing God and wanting him to develop the seeds sown in you, taking you to another level in your life, particularly your spiritual life, beginning with the words: “I hear the sound of revival / Deep in the hearts of your people / Send it now, we want it now”.

However, Send the Rain really starts speaking to my heart when the voices sing: “We’re hungry, we’re thirsty for you, we want you / We’re patiently waiting for you, we need you”.  These are lyrics I can empathise with and simply sing as a prayer, because of the strength and simplicity.  It is also the meaning of these words that allows me to sing them as a prayer because I not only need and want my God more than anything, but I need and want Him to mould who I am and do great things in my life.

As the voices sing, “Lord we will wait for you / Cause all we want is you”, Send the Rain builds to a climax and my favourite part of the song, which always makes me want to lift my hands and sing.  I love singing along to the powerful lyrics, “We’ve been praying, we’ve been sowing / Now we’re crying, heaven send the rain”.  There is something so amazing about those small set of words, which sets my heart and soul on fire.  I find myself praying that God will send the rain down to water the seeds sown in me and others who believe in Him, so that we can have as much of an impact on the world as possible and bring more souls to Him.

I know that God can send the rain and create a revival in the hearts of His people, but I’m just praying for that rain to fall on me and cause the seeds that have been sown to grow into a beautiful tree, that will stand firm in what I believe and what I need to do in this world.  I know that there is a whole lot out there for me to do and countless ideas I have that need to be brought to life, but for some reason I continue to shy away from it, and that is what causes so many tears to fall from my eyes.

I cannot allow myself to shy away from my purpose anymore and I need to sow some seeds of my own, so that the people I come into contact can have the opportunity to get to know the Lord that I love.  So Lord, right now I’m crying “Heaven send the rain.”

2 comments

  1. wishing you the quiet inner movement inside to nurture the ideas that are coming through you.
    each day is an opportunity to tend to these idea/dreams. and each day is all we have.
    blessings on your journey

Comment at Your Leisure

