Getting to Me


People are getting to me, particularly guys.  I don’t want it to be the case and I try to put those negative feelings at bay, but I cannot help it.  There are certain individuals who do the most infuriating things or act in a certain way that bothers me, which makes me feel some type of way.

Like I’ve said before, I cannot always control my feelings and I cannot help how I feel about people, especially as I watch the way some of them behave.  I’m tired of the attitudes that I’m forced to deal with or weird antics in friendships, so I never actually know where I stand.  I’m sick of all the lies and false promises, and please do not get me started on the countless clones and fakes walking around.

Yet what gets to me the most is guys, which seems to be a common occurrence in my life, and probably the lives of so many other females.  Too many guys behave in the most ridiculous, annoying and confusing ways, making me constantly wonder if I will ever find someone in this lifetime.

The majority of males I come across are incredibly selfish — everything needs to be on their terms, on their time and excuse me if anyone brings up their faults or mistakes, because every word should be what they want to hear.  I’m tired of guys saying girls and relationships are drama, simply because they cannot handle the truth or a little criticism.  Half of the time, it is them who starts the drama.

There are also too many guys who have a problem with holding a conversation — I’m not even going to stretch to meaningful conversation, because they don’t possess the ability to get to that level.  I want to be able to talk to someone and have the conversation flow, without having to tell them what I’ve been doing over and over again or deal with monosyllabic responses.

However, guys have no problem finding something to say when it comes to the subject of relationships or sex.  I don’t understand why guys think it is okay to ask if a female is a virgin, particularly during the second conversation in their lifetime, and then require a full explanation to go with the answer.  I cannot comprehend why they need to be so intrusive or why sex is a major factor on the forefront of their minds.  It makes me seriously question the motives of the male in question.

Then there are the men who don’t want to get into their feelings and refuse to open up to you, or the men who are way up in their feelings and get emotional about everything.  There are the guys who are overly forceful or forward, and the guys who are too passive and afraid to make their move.  And there are the guys who are manipulative, dishonest, confused about what they want or straight up disrespectful.

To be fair, there’s probably a lot more I could say, but I don’t want to keep on bashing guys, because there are actually some good ones out there and us females aren’t perfect either — we have plenty of flaws and issues.  However, it is guys that have been getting to me more than anything recently and I’ve wanted to express this for a little while.

All I want is for a man to step up and prove me wrong, because I am tired of giving guys the benefit of the doubt and finding out they are the same as everyone else.  I’m tired of giving guys a chance and having them throw it back in my face.  I want to be able to put my trust in someone and I want to be able to feel deeply for someone again, but I feel that it is a long time coming and almost out of reach.

3 comments

  1. I don’t know if there’s a man like that. But going through such funny stuff and learning about silly little things makes it worthwhile, no?

Comment at Your Leisure

