My Top 5 Moments of 2015


It’s coming to the end of the year, which is always a time of relection for me, so I’ve decided to bring back ‘My Top 5’ to count down some of my favourite moments from 2015.  God has blessed me immensely this year and I’ve seen Him do a whole lot of amazing things in my life, which has made most of these moments possible.  So come on, let’s get into my Top 5 Moments of 2015, which aren’t in any particular order by the way.

 

5. Sweet Home Alabama

In April, my sister and I had the pleasure of flying out to the beautiful city of Huntsville, Alabama to spend time with our beautiful family.  Although there’s no place like home, I was in need of an escape and I was happy to spend three weeks in what I now affectionately call ‘Sweet Home Alabama’.  I loved the food, I loved the scenery, I loved the shopping, I loved my room and I loved getting to meet new people.  Spending time with my family was great, especially getting to watch my cousin Kaleem graduate after not seeing him in 10 years, and I loved the new friends I made.  Shout out to my girl Britney!

P1140044

4. March Madness

March Madness will always be one of my favourite times of the year.  However, this year felt particularly special to me and I got into it more than ever before.  I watched every game that I possibly could, kept up to date with all of the excitement and upsets, and fell in love with numerous players.  It was the end of the college basketball tournament in April that most excited me though, as I watched both my men and women’s teams lift the National Championship trophy.  Tyus Jones made it a lot of fun as he led Duke to victory, while it was great to watch coach Geno Auriemma make history as the UConn ladies won their 10th National Championship.

 

3. The Complete Freedom of Truth

In August, I flew out of the country again, this time to Bosnia as part of ‘The Complete Freedom of Truth’, a five-year youth project, which aims to use art and culture for social change.  It was one of the most amazing experiences of my life, which enabled me to develop my confidence, embrace my love of writing and gain some life skills.  Yet what made this experience truly special were the beautiful people that I fell in love with and helped me feel like I truly fit in.  My house sisters Ellie, Naomi and Amy; the wonderfully caring Tina, Robert, Alex, Mikica and Nevena; my dinner buddies Marko and Nina; my girls Julia, Izzy and Jessie; and my boys Filip, Rory, Ljubiša and Nemanja.  There are also many others, but this whole blog would simply be made up of their names.

TCFT

2. My First Paid Writing Gig

It’s no secret that I’m a writer, so I was ecstatic when I landed my first paid writing gig this year!  I’d been writing pieces for Just Croydon on and off over the past year, so you can imagine my joy when the beautiful boys behind Just Croydon offered to pay me to write regular articles.  I just had to thank God, because I know that He opened this door for me and showed me how patience and perseverance pays off.  It also shows the importance of being willing to give your free time and showing generosity to others, as you never know what opportunities may come your way.

 

1. ‘What Would You Say?’

Of course, making my short film with Fixers had to be one of my Top 5 moments, as it was a truly special experience that will help to propel some of my future plans.  I was extremely happy to launch ‘What Would You Say?’ earlier this month, as I was finally able to show the film to others and also hear what they had to say.  The feedback was better than I could have ever anticipated, the level of support shown was brilliant and the discussions that took place during the launch gave me great hope going forward.  And if you haven’t had a chance to watch the film yet, why not watch it now?

There were a number of other great moments from this year, like finally landing a job, celebrating another birthday, and studying the Gospels in the Bible, which I’m loving and learning so much from.  I already know that 2016 is going to bring a whole load of great moments and exciting things for me, which I’m looking forward to.  So tell me, what were some of your top moments in 2015?

4 comments

Comment at Your Leisure

