My God is Big


“My God is big / So strong so mighty”

These are the first lines from my song right now, BIG by the Planetshakers (although I prefer the version by the Full Gospel Baptist Church Fellowship International), which was introduced to me by Madison Mission Seventh-day Adventist Church.  This is an uplifting, joyful song with few lyrics, but a powerful message that speaks to me in so many ways right now.

Of course, it goes without saying that “My God is good / He’s so good to me”, as I serve an awesome God who is good to me all the time and I will never get tired of saying that, because I’m so unworthy of all of the blessings He bestows upon me.  However, my favourite part of the song are the lyrics, “My God’s plan for me / Goes beyond my wildest dreams”, because all He’s got in store for me is more than I can even imagine in my right now.

I just need to testify a little bit, because my God is doing the most amazing things in my life and He is setting His amazing plan for me into action, without me even showing Him the level of gratitude He deserves.  Yes, I’m more than thankful for everything my God does, but I do not always give Him enough credit or have the level of faith in Him that I should have.  Too often when things are going wrong, I get upset and worry, forgetting about what God has done time and time again.  Instead, I should be remembering that His timing is perfect and He will always come through for me.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been fretting about the launch of my short film to empower youth voice, thinking it won’t happen or it will have to be prolonged again or that people wouldn’t show interest in coming.  Things got down to the wire, but God made sure I that I got a great location so I could have my launch before the end of the year and He’s enabled a number of people to help me, particularly through promotion.  The level of support I’ve received as been amazing and really warmed my heart, and I believe the turn out for next week will better than I could even imagine.

I was worried for a while, even though I knew that I didn’t need to be, because God has got my back.  I know that through Him, this launch is going to be special and act as the start of something that will change the lives of young people, which I believe is His calling for me.

God has shown his goodness and his wonderful mercies in other ways this week, but I know that I need to spend a whole lot more time with Him in prayer before I make some of my other decisions going forward.  For now, all I have to do is live in faith and trust in my Heavenly Father, because “there’s nothing my God cannot do”.

Comment at Your Leisure

