Not Afraid to Say I Love You


I love you.

Eight letters,

Three words,

That I’m not afraid to say.

Some shy away from it,

Or word it in a subtle way;

But I can’t understand why,

Because there’s nothing wrong or shameful

In expressing your love.

Expressing you love

For family,

For friends,

For boyfriends or girlfriends,

For husbands or wives.

My heart is full,

Bursting to the brim

With love.

So full,

That I’m desperate to share it,

Before I burst

Or all my love dries up,

Leaving my heart shrivelled on the floor.

Fullness of love

Can be a beautiful thing,

Spreading joy like stardust,

Putting shining smiles on the faces of others.

Those three simple words

Might brighten a person’s day,

Making the sun come out,

Where once there was darkness.

That fullness of love

Can also be a curse,

As others continuously drink from the well,

Without pouring anything back,

Leaving me empty, used, dried up,

Thirsting for some of the love

I’ve given to those around me.

Yet no matter what happens,

I will never stop saying I love you,

Because those three simple words,

Coated in beauty

Have the power to make a huge difference.

 

 

 

 

6 comments

  1. Hi Shaniqua! You have a beautiful name! πŸ™‚ Thank you for visiting my blog. And I immediately came to visit yours. The first thing I see is your poem “Not Afraid To Say I Love You.” Flowingly and beautifully written. It expresses so much on how I feel about saying “I Love You.” It felt great to hear someone else have such similar thoughts. I look forward to reading more of your posts and thoughts, Shaniqua. πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful day!

    1. Hi Michaela, thank you so much and you’re welcome. I appreciate your lovely words and you taking the time to comment. It’s always nice to know that someone else feels the same way as me. Enjoy the rest of your week πŸ™‚

Comment at Your Leisure

