My Top 5 Book Series


Last week, I ended on my Top 5 Christmas Songs, but now I’m going to move away from songs altogether and tell you my Top 5 Book Series.  Reading has always been one of my favourite things to do and I love sitting down to a good book series, as I get to spend more time with characters I love and immerse myself in exciting locations for a longer period of time.  So here we go, this is my Top 5.

 

5. Angels Unlimited/Agent Angel by Annie Dalton

As I was growing up, I loved reading the stories of Mel Beeby, a girl who died at the age of 13 and became an angel studying at the Angel Academy.  Mel and her friends, Lola and Reuben, would embark on missions to help various young people on earth, going to different countries and eras in each book.  I really enjoyed all of the books in this series, although I have yet to read the twelfth and final book, but my favourites would probably be Fighting Fit (based in Ancient Rome) and Keeping It Real (based in the present day at Mel’s old school in England).

Agent Angel

4. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

I am a big fan of The Chronicles of Narnia and I had a great time reading the books as I was growing up.  Getting lost in the land of Narnia is always fun and reading about the different children who travelled there really intrigued me — especially when I found out there was more than just Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy in The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe.  I’m glad that I got to know about the origins of Narnia in The Magician’s Nephew and the end of Narnia in The Last Battle.  Reading these seven books was a true journey.

The Chronicles of Narnia

3. The Casteel series by Virginia Andrews

Virginia Andrews is one of my favourite authors, with her dark, heartbreaking, gripping stories that I can never put down.  This series of five novels about the troubled Casteel family in West Virgina made me sad and irritated at different times, as I wished for good things to finally happen to the characters.  We follow the story of a young girl called Heaven until her adult years, before following the story of her daughter Annie, and then Heaven’s mother, Leigh, in the final book.  Of course, I enjoyed all the books, but my favourite was probably the second in the series, Dark Angel.

Dark Angel

2. The Cousins’ War series by Philippa Gregory

Philippa Gregory has sparked a love for historical fiction in me, first with The Other Boleyn Girl and then with her Cousins’ War series.  I’d always loved the Tudors, but I was unaware of their ancestors and predecessors, the Plantagenets, which I’ve now got a lot of love for after reading Philippa Gregory’s novels.  Each novel is exciting and tense, told through the eyes of women, during some of the most dangerous and significant years in British history.  I only picked up The White Queen — the first book of the six in the series — by chance and I’m so glad I did.  I’ll be reading these stories again and again for years to come.

The Cousins War

1. The Dollanganger series by Virginia Andrews

My all time favourite book series is none other than the Dollanganger series, again by Virginia Andrews, and how could it not be?  This is the first series of novels by Virgina Andrews and the one that made her famous, and reading them, I can see why.  Of course, all five stories are heartbreaking, emotional, tense and gripping, but there is something in particular that stands out about this family, which I can’t put my finger on.  There is serious shock value in these books and you never know what twist will be coming next, as we follow the lives of Cathy, her siblings and her children.  Oh, and my favourite book in this series is definitely the first, Flowers in the Attic.

The Dollanganger Series

I have to give a special mention to The Baby-Sitters Club by Ann M. Martin, which was one of my most favourite book series when I was growing up, and The Faraway Tree and Malory Towers by Enid Blyton, who was one of my favourite authors growing up.  So tell me, do you have a favourite book series?

 

One comment

Comment at Your Leisure

