My Top 5 Christmas Songs


As I shared my Top 5 Christmas Carols with you yesterday, it only makes sense to share my Top 5 Christmas Songs with you today.  As you already know, the festive season is my favourite time of the year, and that has a lot to do with the Christmas songs, which I love so, so much.  In fact, I love them so much that coming up with just a Top 5 was kind of hard, but I managed to do it.  Again, these songs aren’t ranked in any particular order, because that would make things way too difficult.

 

5. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas – Vanessa Williams

I’ve always been a fan of the song, Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas, but I heard Vanessa Williams’ version a few years ago and I absolutely fell in love with it.  She puts her own stamp on the song, giving it a more RnB vibe, without losing the Christmas-y feel it should have.  I really like Vanessa’s voice in this song, but it is the backing music that truly sets it off.  The music is gorgeous and it always makes me want to move, making it a perfect song to put on when you’re getting ready for a Christmas party.

4. Baby It’s Cold Outside – Tom Jones & Cerys Matthews

Baby Its Cold Outside only became one of my favourite Christmas songs in recent years, and it could only be the Tom Jones and Cerys Matthews rendition.  Their vocals in this song bounce of each other amazingly well and the lyrics never fail to amuse me.  This is a real feel-good song for a feel-good season, which I think makes the perfect combination.  Look out for me passionately joining in with the final line.

3. Twelve Days of Christmas – Peter Broggs

This has been one of my favourite Christmas songs since I was a little girl, listening to Reggae Christmas CDs while decorating the Christmas tree with my family.  I loved the beat, tune and festive sound of this version of the Twelve Days of Christmas, although it was only when I got older that I grasped what Peter Broggs was singing about, but I love the song still.  My favourite part has to be when he goes, “Five songs to sing” (and later “Ten songs to sing”) in a dragged out way.  It is just the best.

2. Driving Home for Christmas – Chris Rea

Driving Home for Christmas has to be one of my ultimate favourite Christmas songs.  Whenever I hear it, I get a great feeling inside and it brings that beautiful festive cheer, no matter what time of the year it is.  Chris Rea’s husky vocals and the beautiful backing music come together to make this song absolute perfection.  It also has a really great instrumental interlude, which has to be my favourite part of a really great song.

1. All I Want for Christmas is You – Mariah Carey

I’m sorry, this may be cliché, but All I Want for Christmas is You, is my all-time favourite Christmas song.  I’ve been crazy in love with this song since I was a little girl, listening to Christmas songs on the radio for the first time.  I love the very Christmas-y sounding backing music, I love Mariah’s vocals, but most of all, I love the very soulful voices of Mariah’s backing singers — without them, the song would not be the same.  All I Want for Christmas is You is just a brilliant song that I will always love.

Like I mentioned earlier, I really, really love Christmas songs, so I could give a ton of special mentions, but I’m only going to give a few: Carol of the Bells – John Williams, It’s The Most Wonderful Time of the Year – Andy Williams, Do The Know It’s Christmas – Band Aid 20 (sorry, I really love this one) and The Christmas Song – Christina Aguilera.  So tell me, which Christmas songs are your favourite?

3 comments

  1. I think my fave is Whitney Houston…do you hear what I hear….or whatever it’s official name is….I belt it out when driving and it always makes me Teary eyed💦😊 great list.

Comment at Your Leisure

