My Top 5 Christmas Carols


As I shared my Top 5 Hymns with you a few days ago, I thought I’d keep in with the theme and share my Top 5 Christmas Carols.  Christmas Carols are some of my most favourite things to sing ever and since the festive season is my favourite time of the year, it just makes sense that I love to sing these songs.  Again, this list is in no particular order, because I simply couldn’t find it in me to rank these lovely songs.

 

5. The First Noel

The First Noel is one of the sweetest songs you will ever sing, with its soft, soothing tune and lyrics that somehow remind me of childhood.  I love sitting down to worship with my family and singing the chorus, “Noel, Noel, Noel, Noel / Born is the King of Israel”.  It feels so special.

 

4. We Three Kings

If The First Noel somehow reminds me of childhood, then We Three Kings definitely reminds me of my childhood.  I used to enjoy singing this song at school and I’m sure that it was my favourite Christmas Carol as a child.  I remember loudly surging into the chorus going, “Oh–oh”.  For me, it is just so much fun to sing.

 

3. Silent Night

Silent Night is another really sweet song, with great words to meditate on while singing and swaying along.  I love the beautiful way I’m reminded of my Jesus’ birth through the words and I especially love the first verse: “Silent night, holy night / All is calm, all is bright / Round yon Virgin, Mother and Child / Holy infant so tender and mild / Sleep in heavenly peace / Sleep in heavenly peace”.  The words are so calming, right.

 

2. O Come, O Come, Emmanuel

This is such a great Christmas Carol!  I love the key changes, I love the tune and I love the energy of the chorus, which slightly contrasts the softer sung verses.  O Come, O Come, Emmanuel is usually one the first Christmas Carols I request to sing during family worship, with my favourite part of course being, “Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel  / Shall come to thee, O Israel”.

 

1. O Come, All Ye Faithful

O Come, All Ye Faithful is definitely one of my all time favourite Christmas Carols.  I like singing the uptempo tune, I like the lyrics, and I’m also a big fan of the Kirk Franklin version of this song, which sounds amazing.  However, the main reason I love this song is because of its simple chorus, which sounds so great as a song on its own — I’ll never forget one of the Christmas services at church when my uncle slowed it right down and all of us in the congregation sang, “O come, let us adore Him / O come, let us adore Him / O come, let us adore Him / Christ the Lord”.  It was beautiful.

 

Songs about the birth of my Jesus just seem to be the best, so I have to give a special mention to Angels We Have Heard on High, Hark! The Herald Angels Sing, Joy to the World and O Holy Night.  I can’t wait to start singing Christmas Carols now, so tell me, what are your favourites?

3 comments

  1. I would consider John Stephenson’s “Milford,” Thomas Ravencroft’s “A Christmas Caroll,” Reginald Heber’s “Brightest and Best of the Sons of the Morning,” William Marsh’s “Pentonville,” and, of course, “Silent Night,” all in the repertoire of my choir.

Comment at Your Leisure

