My Top 5 Hymns


Last Friday I left you with my Top 5 Gospel Songs (right now), so today it’s time for my Top 5 Hymns.  I love singing and praising God, and I love to sing hymns while worshipping.  There is something very special about hymns, especially when sung with a congregation who are really enjoying what they’re singing and are giving it their all in a worship environment.  As they are all my favourites, I’ll be doing this Top 5 in no particular order.  Here it goes.

 

5. Seeking The Lost

I’ve always loved the hymn Seeking The Lost, despite it annoying me a little for a while because people would always sing it during praise and worship sessions.  Of course, I like the words, but the main reason this song is one of my favourites is because of the way it is sung, with the men leading the chorus in their deep voices and the women following.  It sounds great when sung with real enthusiasm.

 

4. To God Be The Glory

To God Be The Glory is so powerful and joyful, referencing my favourite Bible verse, John 3:16. It is one of those uplifting songs that can help to put a smile on your face and remind you of the greatness of God, especially when you may be going through a difficult time.  However, it is my favourite because of the less traditional way that it is sung, which gives the tune slightly more rhythm.

 

3. All Hail The Power of Jesus’ Name

“All hail the power of Jesus’ name / Let angels prostrate fall / Let angels prostrate fall / Bring forth the royal diadem / And crown Him, crown Him, crown Him, crown Him and crown Him, Lord of all.”  I just love this version of All Hail The Power of Jesus’ Name.  It is strong and full of energy, perfect for praise and worship.  Singing this hymn never fails to put a smile on my face and I always find myself fully immersed in it.  It is truly a song of praise.

 

2. Holy, Holy, Holy

Holy, Holy, Holy is a beautiful hymn, particularly when sung slowly and meditatively —  I’ll never forget when we sung Holy, Holy, Holy in this way during a church service many years ago and its been a special moment that has stuck with me forever.  This has always been a hymn that I’ve loved, particularly because of the lyrics.  “Holy, holy, holy! though the darkness hide Thee / Though the eye of sinful man Thy glory may not see; / Only Thou art holy; there is none beside Thee, / Perfect in power, in love, and purity.”

 

1. Amazing Grace

Amazing Grace is one of my ultimate favourite hymns, because of the purity and meaning of the words, which mean a lot to me.  If it wasn’t for God’s amazing grace, I would not be saved and I wouldn’t have a chance in this sinful world.  I also can’t wait for the day when my Jesus comes again to take me home, because I want to be there forever singing praises to God in his presence.  “When we’ve been there ten thousand years, / Bright shining as the sun, / We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise / Than when we first begun.”

 

I can’t end without giving a special mention to some of my old favourites: Crown Him with Many Crowns, Side by Side and Dare to Be a Daniel.  I just love myself some hymns, so tell me, which hymns are your favourites?

4 comments

Comment at Your Leisure

