Happy Birthday to My Best Friend


Fierce, ferocious and funny,

That is my best friend.

Unbelievably strong,

But also delicate,

Feeling hurt like anyone else.

Intelligent and hardworking,

She’s achieved more than most expected,

But I never doubted her for one second,

Seeing the person that others didn’t,

And now I’ll see her graduating,

Getting that degree.

Because she’s grown more

Than anyone I’ve ever known, you know,

And mellowed beyond belief,

With a seriously great work ethic,

That is amazing to see.

She’s loyal, to a tee,

More loyal than any friend I have,

I know that no matter what,

This girl will always have my back.

Our relationship isn’t perfect,

But what relationship is.

We’re what others see as unlikely friends,

As we’re two very different people,

But those differences create a balance –

She forces me to make the tough decisions,

And I bring out her more rational side.

We’re what you might call hard and soft,

But the what we have in common,

Is our friendship,

Which is most important,

And means a lot to the both of us.

So Happy Birthday,

To my beautiful best friend,

I know she’s not loving getting older,

But it means she’s here for another year,

And that we’ll be friends a year longer.

 

3 comments

Comment at Your Leisure

