My Sister & I


As I was sat today looking at my sister, I thought about the future when we would be living apart, when she would be married and I would be married.  No longer living in the same house, no longer sharing the same room.

You see, people don’t understand how close my sister and I are, just how attached we are.  She’s not just my sister, but she’s my best friend, my little baby, my confidant, the person who knows everything about me, the person who means more to me than anything in the world to me.

You see, there are times when I’ve been holding on by a thread, and the only thing that kept me hanging on was wanting to be there for my sister to support her.  I could never intentionally leave her alone in this world.

The thought of one day living in totally different house from her makes me sad, because of all the jokes we’ve had together and all of our late night girl talks.   We laugh at things that nobody else would understand, we sing songs that the other is thinking and we come out with exactly the same reactions at the same time.

My sister and I have a very special bond — I say that we’re twins born three years apart.  As we get older, the prospect of living apart gets closer, which is a little difficult to face up to.  Over the course of this year has actually been the longest time we’ve spent apart, as I’ve spent almost three weeks away from her.  When I was away in Bosnia for two weeks, I didn’t realise how much I’d miss her.

My sister, my Rhi Rhi, my best friend is also my other half and words cannot express how much I love her.  We both want happiness for the other, so of course we’re going support one another getting married, but it doesn’t mean that we’re not going to miss each other a whole lot.

3 comments

  1. I feel the same way about my sister! My world began more beautifully the day she was born, and everyday has been better simply because she exists! You will miss sharing the room, but you can facetime her when the moment seems to empty without her. 😉 G-uno

    1. That is so nice, it’s good to know that someone else feels the same way about their sister. Yes, facetiming her will probably be a good idea. Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Comment at Your Leisure

