Another Year, Another Reflection


Saturday was my birthday.

Another year of life, an ideal time for reflection.

You see, birthdays aren’t a huge thing for me anymore;

God granting me another year is a blessing,

But the concept of getting older doesn’t seem so appealing.

 

Turning 21 felt weird,

However, I loved being 22.

Turning 23, though, just doesn’t feel nice,

And it’s like I can see 30 in the distance.

 

As I get older, it feels like time is running out,

To achieve what I want to achieve.

I want to make a difference, make my mark on the world,

I also want to get married and have a little girl.

 

In all honesty, I’d love to have been married by 23,

But of course this wasn’t meant to be.

Now I hope to be married by 25,

Having the one standing by my side.

 

There’s a slight problem with that though,

Because there’s currently no man in my life,

And I continue to wonder whether I’ll find someone worthy,

Or if they’ll even be willing to make me their wife.

 

A man in my life is not in the forefront of my mind though,

With so many plans for me to put into action.

Although I’d like to be further forward on my checklist,

I’ve done a lot in the past year that I should be proud of.

 

I’ve learnt to say no and not take every task on board,

I’ve continued writing and moved one of my blogs forward.

I found a way to take my youth platform to the next stage,

And I’ve finally come up with a business idea to put into play.

 

I visited new places in the world and made new friends,

I saw family I hadn’t seen for years on end.

Slowly but surely, my confidence is continuing to build,

And I’m seeing what I can do in the community I’m in.

 

There is so much more and for that I am proud,

But this year was definitely not full of good times.

I made mistakes and did not work as hard as I should,

But it’s been a learning process, which is always good.

 

Although 23 is an age that I’m not really feeling,

I did decide to celebrate my birthday a little bit;

Because I love those special moments with the people I love,

And being with them a little longer makes getting older worthwhile.

 

Comment at Your Leisure

