A Love of Poetry


So as I mentioned a few days ago, I was blessed enough to be on the right trip at the right time.  My time in Bosnia allowed me to embrace a number of new things and also learn a lot about myself, which I intend to take forward.

One of the main things I learnt about myself, and one of my favourite aspects of the entire process, was that I am actually better at writing poetry and spoken word pieces than I realised.

Writing poetry has never been my favourite thing and it has always been the aspect of writing that I have most struggled with, but it’s not as bad as I thought it was.  Poetry is beautiful and writing poems is actually very therapeutic, allowing a whole other avenue of expression.

During a poetry and spoken word workshop, I wrote two pieces of poetry that I ended up really liking and were received well by others.  I also wrote a spoken word piece, which I performed during the final week and was also my first ever spoken word performance.

During my trip, I discovered a love of poetry that won’t go away and I’m planning to write more poems in the future, so it’s likely that you’ll now see poetry popping up quite regularly on Inside My Head.

Check out my two poems, This is What Makes Me Happy and If I Wasn’t a Person I Would Be, on The Complete Freedom of Truth blog.

2 comments

Comment at Your Leisure

