The Power of Speaking Out


As I’ve grown up, struggling with self harm has been one of the most difficult things in my life, and although I have not self harmed in years, I know it is a battle I will be facing for the rest of my life.

However, I’ve found that speaking out about my experience has helped to release the burden, while also making it seem more real.

I recently carried out an interview on UnTangledFM’s ‘We Got Issuez’ show, speaking about my journey with self harm out loud, rather than through written methods.

Carrying out the interview was a refreshing experience for me and I was happy with how it was handled.  I just hope that it will serve as a positive for at least one young person and encourage those who are struggling with self harm to come forward, as it’s never good to suffer in silence.

Listening back to my interview even gave me some hope when going through a time of inner turmoil, which made my mind turn to thoughts of harming myself again.  I refused to go through with it and although I am not through the woods yet, I know that self harm is not the solution and I’m going to make it through this storm.

Listen to my interview here: https://audioboom.com/boos/3136845-self-respect-or-self-harm

 

Comment at Your Leisure

