Ten is the Charm


Although last night’s game was underwhelming and full of mistakes, I was very happy to watch my UConn ladies win their third straight National Championship.

This is an amazing team and this title was a fitting end to the college careers of Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis and Kiah Stokes, who are two standout offensive and defensive players respectively.

What made this game most special though, was that the win earned coach Geno Auriemma his tenth National Title, matching the late, great John Wooden, who won his titles in the men’s game.  Geno is a truly amazing and inspiring coach, who has turned the UConn women’s basketball programme into a powerhouse.  He definitely deserved this.

Watching my UConn ladies win was the perfect end to a “perfect day” for me, after watching my Duke men win it all in the early hours of the morning.  Both of my teams won it all this year, which has made me a very happy lady, Coach K won his fifth title, Coach Auriemma won his tenth and I fell in love with the lovely Tyus Jones.

All I can say is bring on the next college basketball season, because I miss it already.

One comment

Comment at Your Leisure

