I Can’t Make It On My Own


My God is awesome, loving, amazing, thoughtful, forgiving and so many other wonderful things.  He is the only constant in my life and no words that I use will ever do Him justice.  He is simply indescribable and I don’t know what I would do without him.

Tye Tribbett’s song, What Can I Do, is able to express my feelings perfectly.  Last night, I knew that I wanted to talk to my God, but I didn’t really know what I wanted to say and I knew that any words I said would not be enough, so I just put on this song (and For Every Mountain) and sung out to Him instead.

I was able to express all that I wanted to say and I know that my Lord understood my heart.  It was special as I asked Him: “Tell me what can I do / Cause I can’t live without you / I can’t live without you”.  I physically cannot live without my God and I know that without Him, I would not be here.

So to ensure that my life is going in the right direction, I simply give my all to Him.  Tye sings: “So here’s my heart / Here’s my mind / I give you my soul / Need you to take control / Cause I’ve tried it / Tried it on my own / but what I found is / I can’t make it / on my own”.

I have tried to make it on my own so many times before and I’ve failed, because I don’t have the capability – the devil is just too strong to fight alone.  This has also required me to let go of some the control that I’ve desperately wanted over my life and let God do His thing, because He knows what is best for me and that has saved me.

However, it is the later lines of the song that really speak to me and tug at my heartstrings.  As I listened and sang along to them yesterday, I found myself being brought to tears and I’m being brought to tears again as I listen to them right now.

The song says: “I can’t walk without you / I can’t talk without you / I can’t sing without you / I’m nothing without you / I can’t live without you / I can’t breathe without you / I can’t be without you / There’s no me without you”

I know that there is nothing I can do without my God and regretfully, there are times when I’ve forgotten that.  Without my God I would not exist, I would not wake up every morning and I would not be the person I am today.  I would be lost, living a life in the pits of despair and struggling to move forward.

I need my Lord every single day and I cannot bear to live my life without Him by my side, because there is no hope in a world without Him.  He is my strength and my deliverer, which is just part of the reason why I love Him so much.  I can’t make it on my own.

 

Comment at Your Leisure

