An Epic Read


Last Thursday, I was ecstatic to see that The Tribe: A New Dawn, the second book to continue the story of TV show, The Tribe, had arrived.  This was a book that I desperately wanted and I had only ordered it about two days prior, so having it arrive so quickly meant that I could not contain my excitement.

The Tribe truly is my most favourite programme ever and I was devastated when it ended, but thankfully these books have allowed the plotlines to follow through and develop.  Although the first novel, The Tribe: A New World, did not fail to disappoint, author A.J. Penn, stepped up to make A New Dawn even better.

Once I started reading A New Dawn, I could not put the book down and I had it finished within one day.  Just like a TV episode, each chapter finished with a cliffhanger or nail-biting moment, which meant that I had to read on to find out what would happen to each character.  I found myself cheering for my most loved characters in their victories, feeling sad in their defeats and getting annoyed at some of their silly or naive antics.

Reading this book was kind of like an emotional rollercoaster, as I found myself happy for the outcome of some characters, before being brought down again by the sad fate of others.  The end was heartbreaking and I ended up with tears in my eyes, but there are also so many great developments that will create plenty of storylines for the next novel in the saga.

I hope that there will be more of Tai-San, as I was disappointed about her not being a key fixture in the main body of the novel when she played a major part in the prologue.  I also want the Mall Rats to eventually find her so that she can get back with Lex, because they belong together.  Any other girl who gets involved with Lex just needs to step aside, because Lex and Tai-San are soul mates.

The Tribe: A New Dawn was an epic book and I will definitely be reading it again.  If you’re a fan of The Tribe, go and get your copy now, and even if you’re not a fan, you should read it anyway.  Jut make sure that you read The Tribe: A New World first.

Comment at Your Leisure

