Year Full of Writing


One of the biggest things for me this year was taking steps forward to make my writing dream into a reality.  I not only started an online writing course, but I also gained experience that has enabled me to develop my skills, increase my network and broaden my writing portfolio.

Writing for the online youth magazine, LIVE Mag, has been great fun and I look forward to creating new pieces for them next year.  It was great to have the opportunity to write about my beliefs, and researching into the issue of masculinity in the NFL was incredibly interesting.

I’ve also really enjoyed becoming a contributor for local newspaper, The Croydon Citizen, as it has forced me to come out of my comfort zone and attend events that I had never heard of before.  Beats and Eats was one of my favourite creative events, I learnt about tech from Croydon Tech City and I loved watching a production by a local theatre group.Me & Muna

I also wrote a number of other pieces for various websites and organisations, including Inside Croydon and Just Croydon, but there were two writing highlights that really stood out for me this year.

The first was being shortlisted by The Mirror for their Voice of a Generation apprenticeship, which totally shocked me.  The second was carrying out work experience with local newspaper, Croydon Guardian, as it really helped me to hone and develop my writing skills.  It also made me happy to see my name in the local paper alongside pieces I’d written.Croydon Guardian Article

My passion for writing, coupled with my passion for young people, also led me to set up my second blog, Young People Insight.  This has become another one of my babies and it has allowed me to write about young people in my way.  I just hope that it continues to grow in the upcoming years and that young people do feel inclined to get involved.

All of my experiences with writing have helped to expand my knowledge so much this year, and also build my confidence, which was seriously low.  Although I am struggling and lacking with motivation right now, I am praying hard and I have faith that my writing will bring even greater things next year.

I have a new play in the works and a number of other rough script ideas that I plan to work on.  My blog will become part of a bigger project involving young people, which I am excited about, and hopefully I will start drafting my first book.  All I can say is that 2015 is going to be a year of hard work.

2 comments

Comment at Your Leisure

