A Great Year of Reading


As you know, I absolutely love books and reading is one of my favourite things to do.  I read as often as I can and indulge myself in stories or knowledge that will expand my mind.  This year, I have been fortunate enough to read some amazing books, which I found difficult to put down.

I finally picked up the book, Coming Home by Mariah Stewart, months after receiving it for Christmas last year.  After the first few chapters, I was hooked and hungry for more, which led to me buying the next four books in the Chesapeake Diaries series on Amazon.  These were nice stories of love and romance, which is exactly what I want to find someday.  I’m hoping to get the next three books in the series next year.

I love a good book series, so I also read the Casteel series by Virginia Andrews, which I genuinely could not put down. Just like the Chesapeake Diaries, I read the first book, Angel, and then quickly bought the four remaining books on Amazon.  In typical Virginia Andrews style, this series was a gripping, twisted, emotional rollercoaster that kept me wanting more.  However, the plotlines did start getting predictable after a while.

One Blood: Inside Britain’s Gang Culture by John Heale and Hood Rat by Gavin Knight were two of my favourite books this year.  Just like Among the Hoods by Harriet Sergeant (my favourite book of 2012), these are non-fiction books that gave me a greater understanding of young men and gang culture in this country.  I was truly inspired and I know that these two books will be a great help to me in my future ventures.

I also loved reading, Empress of Fashion: A Life of Diana Vreeland by Amanda Mackenzie Stuart, a biography of the legendary fashion editor who went on to revolutionise museum exhibitions.  As you know, fashion still has a special place in my heart, so reading this book was a treat for me.  The fashion world owes so much to Diana Vreeland and fashion lovers everywhere should go out and get this book.

One of my biggest surprises of this year was reading Bram Stoker’s Dracula, which I loved more than I ever thought I would.  The story was unique but sad, and I never knew what was going to happen.  It was interesting to read the tale of events from the point of view of various characters and I would recommend this classic to everyone.

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde intrigued me, as did The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Brontë.  I was a little disturbed by The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux, but I actually really enjoyed the sweet and sometimes sombre Agnes Grey, again by Anne Brontë.

This year, I expanded my reading horizons and was very happy with the outcomes.  I found amazing stories and texts that I am going to return to again and again.

I just can’t wait for 2015, when I am going to read a new set of books and uncover new surprises.  I especially can’t wait to get my hands on the final book in The Cousin’s War series by Philippa Gregory, The King’s Curse, and The Tribe: The New Dawn, which will continue the story of my favourite ever TV show.

What books did you most enjoy reading during 2014?

2 comments

  1. This last year I have been drawn to read books on the First and second world war, some fictional and some diaries. I also love to read about other cultures and politics. At the moment I am reading Imran Khans autobiograpy, very interesting.

Comment at Your Leisure

