We need to find a way to stop the cycle


I’m loving One Blood: Inside Britain’s Gang Culture by John Heale, as it’s really opening my eyes and giving me insight into an important issue. I can see that it is essential for us to take action to break the cycle of youth crime and youth violence.

Young People Insight

I am currently reading One Blood: Inside Britain’s Gang Culture by John Heale, and it is constantly opening my eyes and helping me to realise why young people are in the state that they are.

I’ve desperately wanted to understand why young people have resorted to violent crime to resolve their problems, or why there has been a surge in knife crime, or even why they want to be involved in the gang life.  Reading the first four chapters of this book is already making it a lot clearer to me.

P1130239

Although everyone has the ability to make their own choices and choose their own path, these young people have been let down by society, the system and even their own communities or family time after time.

Their elders neglect them, ignore their problems, talk down to them, abuse them and the list goes on.  They turn to this life…

View original post 281 more words

Comment at Your Leisure

