We gave each other nicknames


My head wasn’t in the right space to write more than one dedication last week, but I’m feeling a lot better now and I feel that I have the capability to truly express my love for another one of the beautiful people in my life.  Now this is someone that I’ve been friends with since my time at secondary/high school, who I became friends with because we were in a lot of the same classes together.

We are very different people, but I guess we had a common ground in the sets we were in for various subjects and because we had a liking for certain types of music.  Although she’s not into hip hop, RnB and dancehall like me, we do love a bit of indie, rock and emo music.  We really like listening to some of the same artists, like Paloma Faith and Florence + the Machine, and we love some of the same songs.  In fact, it was her that introduced me to Smells Like Teen Spirit by Nirvana.

I think that music is actually one of our biggest connections, because we would spend time during our terrible Physics lessons writing song lyrics in the spaces of each other’s planners, which we would then proceed to sing to each other once they were complete.  It was funny when we would sing songs that the other wouldn’t know.  We also loved High School Musical when it was first released and we spent time concocting a whole weird plot for a sequel.  There were names and everything.

Like all of my closest school friends, I gave her a nickname and I would always refer to her by that name, without fail.  I first started calling her by her surname, which then changed to the nickname that she had as a baby.  I still call her by that nickname now and introducing her using her real name always sounds weird to me – in my eyes, that’s not her name.  She also has a nickname for me – Brownies – which led to her creating chocolate nicknames for my whole family – Chocolate Fondue for my dad, Chocolate Cake for my mum and Chocolate Chip for my sister.  We are in effect the chocolate family.

Sometimes I feel like I take her for granted way to much, because she really is a great friend.  She never forgets my birthday, she always showers me with beautiful gifts that I don’t deserve and she makes time to speak to me, when I have a lot of friends that don’t.  We meet up as much as we can and she made sure she was there at my 16th and 21st birthday celebrations (unfortunately she couldn’t make my 18th).

What was really beautiful though, was when she and two of my other really good friends from school, surprised me with a cake and presents for my 20th birthday.  We were meant to go out for a meal so they could surprise me then, but I kind of ruined it by feeling ill, so they had to come to my house instead.  I was really touched and I felt truly loved by my friends – I will never forget that.

My friend is weird, like so many of the other individuals in my life, and she makes me laugh.  I love spending time listening to music with her and forcing her to listen to the genres that I like.  I know that she will always be there for me, which is why I love her with all my heart.

Comment at Your Leisure

