Creativity Runs Deep


Recently, I’ve been making a lot of references to my love of the creative arts.  I have been blessed with a creative mind and creativity runs deep in my heart and soul.  Creativity is a huge part of what makes me who I am and the creative arts have a great ability to touch me and speak to my emotions.

I am a huge fan of the creative arts – I love music, fine art, graphic art, design, television, film, dance and of course fashion, textiles and theatre.  I have studied fashion and textiles at different periods of my life, and I have also written a small number of stage plays that have been performed at my church, but it is my dream to have one of my plays performed on a theatre stage.

Yesterday I went to the theatre for my Dad’s birthday and I am so glad that I did, because I was able to watch one of the most moving and amazing pieces of theatre.  I had never heard of The Scottsboro Boys before last night, but now they will be in a permanent part of my mind and the story will stay forever entwined in my heart.

The play was based on a true story of injustice, racism and the struggle that came with being black and living in the South of the USA.  This powerful tale was created into a special piece of musical theatre, which effectively combined the seriousness and deep sadness of the tale with humour.

It also helped that the acting, singing and dancing was on point.  The harmonies were stunning and I loved the tap routines, especially during the song about the electric chair.

I love music, dance, theatre and history, so this play was definitely a treat for me.  It touched me, broke my heart and brought tears to my eyes, but it also had me laughing and smiling throughout.  I would definitely recommend The Scottsboro Boys to anyone who is planning to go to the theatre and I urge everyone to research into the story behind the play.

Last night confirmed to me just how much I love the theatre and I see that I need to go to the theatre more often.  It also made me even more determined to get one of plays on a big stage one day.  I want to share my gift with all the world, because creativity is at the heart of who I am.

 

Comment at Your Leisure

