A Small Friend


When you’re a small person like me, it always feels nice to spend time with someone that is smaller than you.  However, this is not the reason for me being friends with this individual.  Yes, we are both small people, but we share a bond over creativity and museum visits.

Studying Textiles was my favourite part of my whole A-level experience and it was also one of the best eras of my life – I’ll never forget the two years spent with an amazing teacher and five great ladies, one of who I’m writing about today.  A-level Textiles meant a lot of museum or gallery visits, but they are not always fun when you are on your own or don’t have a complete idea of where you’re going, so my friend and I found ourselves on quite a few visits together.

These visits were always fun and full of laughs, like when her sister almost hit her with an umbrella that she threw down from the balcony of her flat and we spent the day hopping from tube to tube.  We also found ourselves at the British Museum hunting for shells that we thought weren’t there, but we eventually found them on one of our travels.

She was one of my closest friends at sixth form and I loved our times spent chatting during form time.  I also enjoyed our little trips  spent buying birthday presents for our Textiles teacher.  She always had a story to tell and something interesting to add to our conversations – now that I think about it, I really miss hearing her tell those stories.

I am truly grateful for those museum visits, not only because I love museums, but because they enabled me to strike up a strong friendship with someone who really means a lot to me.  Again, I don’t see her nowhere near as much as I would like to, but I hope she knows that I love her loads.

2 comments

Comment at Your Leisure

