Proud to Call You Cousin


One of my closest friends from my school days made me really proud this weekend, as she walked many miles to raise money for charity.

My friend not only has a beautiful heart, but she has so much inner strength.  I know that she has been through a lot, but she has fought through everything and come out better for it, which is a quality that I really admire.

Due to our surnames being so close in the alphabet, she became one of my first friends in school, because we were usually forced to sit next to each other.  We would talk about many different things and she was the one who got me into One Tree Hill in its great first series.

We also referred to each other as cousins, because half of her double-barreled surname is actually my mother’s maiden name.  It was a lot of fun trying to convince others that we were cousins, as they thought that it was a total joke; however, I still call her my cousin.

I remember the fun I had dancing away at her 16th birthday party, where her friends from outside of school made me feel so welcome.  I also had a great night celebrating her 22nd birthday, when I was also dancing away and made to feel welcome in a group where I was the only individual from our school.

This is another one of my friends that I see very rarely, but I know that she will always be in my life.  She is a loyal friend and one of the sweetest people I know, although she has a serious toughness about her, which I love.

Just like with many of my other friends, I wish that I could see her more often and go for more fun nights out.  She is funny, entertaining, warm and a great person to talk to.  I know that she will always make me feel comfortable, included and part of a group.  I love my friend with all my heart and I am proud to call her my cousin.

2 comments

Comment at Your Leisure

