So Close but yet So Far


You know those friendships that manage to stay strong despite you hardly seeing the individual.  That is the case for me and one of my closest friends, who I speak to regularly, but have not seen for just over four years.  This is not for want of trying though, as we have discussed meeting up many times, but to no avail.

I remember the first time that I met him – I asked for an introduction from one of my other friends, because he was sitting on his own.  I hate to see anyone looking lonely, so I felt that I had to go over to talk to him, and our friendship grew from there.  He was very quiet and sometimes it was a struggle to hear what he was actually saying, but we clicked on some level and it turned out that we had loads in common.

We have a lot of similar feelings and thought processes, we both love basketball and we are big lovers of the sun.  It was funny, because one of our shared friends practically pushed us into keeping in contact, as she was under the impression (along with many others) that I liked him, which simply wasn’t the case.  However, we could stay up talking for hours and I felt very comfortable confiding in him, which isn’t a common occurrence in my world.

My friend has a traditional line, which he used when I first met him and he has now become famous for it.  It always makes me smile when I think of him saying, “I’m from the British Virgin Islands.  You know where da’ is?”  Being from the British Virgin Islands also means that he has a distinct accent, which I love.

Our friendship has not always been perfect, but then again, what friendship is.  Yet in spite of our problems, we have always found our way back and remained firm friends.  He makes me smile, he encourages me, he cares for me and more than anything, I know that he will always be my friend.

I wish that I could see him more and I can’t wait until the day that we finally meet up, because it is long overdue.  I don’t say this about many people, but I adore him.  There is a lot of love there.

 

Comment at Your Leisure

