We were so alike


It’s funny when you’re a young child and have a one-dimensional view on life. You are still growing up, learning and developing relationships.  You might have a series of arguments with someone or see them as your enemy, and then think that you’ll dislike that person forever.  However, a lot can change as you grow up.

This was the case for me and one of my friends.  We did not get on at all for a long time, instead choosing to fight over another one of our friends, who just happened to be my best friend at the time.  Due to our arguments and mutual dislike of each other, I never thought that we would be friends, but we were eventually able to resolve our differences and strike up  a close friendship. In a funny way, it was the friend we were fighting over who actually led to us becoming friends.

We were alike in so many ways and our taste in boys was uncanny.  It was very likely that we would like the same boy at the same time, but we didn’t spend time fighting over them, although she believes that we did have a disagreement over one guy.  We’d spend a lot of time talking and joking and she actually became one of my best friends over time.

Although we did not remain best friends, she continues to be one of the people that I truly value in my life.  I won’t see her for a long time, but once we’re together, things are just the same as they always were.  I alway know what kind of friendship I’m getting with her and she is one of the people who always manages to make me feel included and comfortable.  She is also one of the funniest, weirdest and wackiest individuals I know, which is probably one of the main reasons why she is my friend.

Some of my best memories have been spent with her and a group of our other closest friends, as we always have a lot of fun when we get together.  I will never forget her mad and funny antics on my 16th, 18th and 20th birthdays, her borrowing my clothes and returning them weekes later and the many boy talks we had together, especially about the lovely Italian boy we both liked (she should know exactly who I’m talking about).

I not only miss time spent with her, but also the time that we spent with all our friends, creating all those great memories.  I love my crazy friend so much and now that I write this, I can see just how much she matters to me.  I have a feeling that we’ll be having boy talks for a very long time.

Comment at Your Leisure

