Simple Gifts


As you know, I turned 22 last Friday, which was a birthday that I was not looking forward to and didn’t really care about, although I was blessed to see another year.  Nevertheless, this turned out to be one of my most special and meaningful birthdays, possibly because of its simplicity, and I have really embraced being 22.

My day was filled with simple gifts that filled me with emotion and brought big smiles to my face, yet not all of these gifts were of the material kind.  I was a huge fan of the beautiful notebooks that my sister brought me and I was incredibly surprised when an unexpected individual bought me a gorgeous jacket.

Celebrating with my immediate family in the evening was perfection as usual and taking photos with my sister was a lot of fun; however, what touched me most was the small, intimate birthday celebration put on for me at Lives Not Knives.

These are a special set of people who have supported me and encouraged me when I really needed it, and I am extremely thankful for that.  They have created a place for me that makes me feel that I fit there and I love them so much for that.  Seeing that they got me a cake and candles almost made me cry.

The icing on the top of that cake, though, was having my darling Millik come in later, as I’d wanted to talk to him for some time.  Seeing him actually made my day, because he is a special young person who I would like to have in my life and I was glad to see him on my birthday.

Although my birthday was on the Friday, I still felt that I was receiving gifts on the Saturday, because I finally had the opportunity to see my twin after how many months.  My twin is my baby and I adore him, in spite of the misunderstandings between us.  I was so excited to see him and the smile on my face was huge as soon as I set eyes on him.

The people in my life mean a lot to me, especially those closest, so seeing someone who has such a special place in my life after such a long time is one of the greatest gifts of all.  We were able to talk properly and come to some common ground, which was what we needed, but I hope that he does not disappear for this long again.

I’ve told you before that it is the special little things that put some of the biggest smiles on my face and it was no different as I celebrate my birthday.  I really do love and appreciate the people in my life, and I am thankful for the gifts they bring.

Comment at Your Leisure

