Enjoyable Easter Weekend


I really enjoyed my long weekend over the Easter period.  I had fun, I was blessed and I spent time with the people I love.

Friday was my grandma’s birthday, which meant that I spent time with my dad’s side of the family in West London.  I don’t see some of those family members very often, so I always love getting a chance to see them.  They are a great bunch of characters that always have me cracking up with laughter and Friday was no different.

I had a wonderful Sabbath after waking up from a very good night’s sleep.  I was truly blessed by the sermon on Jacob and Job, which was based around the subject of family.  I learnt many new things that I can take forward in my life and I saw Jacob’s story from a whole new perspective.  In spite of Jacob’s mistakes and his messed up family, God stuck by him and Jesus was eventually born out of that messed up family.

After the sun had set on Saturday, I had the privilege of helping out at a fashion show at my church that was showcasing vintage clothes and hats by an amazing local hat company.  This allowed me to embrace my fashion side, which I have missed, as I acted as a stylist who put together the outfits for the models.  It was a really fun evening that I spent with friends, family and two of the beautiful individuals from Lives Not Knives.

I think that Sunday was my most fun-filled day of the Easter weekend.  After a tasty lunch of fried dumplings, fried plantain and a fried egg with my mum and sister, I made a delicious green smoothie with my sister.  It was our first go at smoothie making and it went well; I can’t wait to make more smoothies.  We then carried on with our making time by baking chocolate chip brownies, which are one of our favourite things to bake.  They were actually a very good batch, if I say so myself.

My sister and I finished off the day by going to our cousin’s house to celebrate her eighteenth birthday.  I cannot believe that my cousin has turned eighteen, but time is flying by and everyone is growing up.  Anyway, we enjoyed our time hanging out with our family and friends, while enjoying some tasty snacks.  I just love myself some snacks.

And today was the perfect end to my extended weekend, as I just sat back and chilled, forgetting any work that I had to do for a while.  It’s been a lovely few days that I wish could last a little longer, but it will be nice to return to work experience tomorrow.  Until the next extended weekend.

Comment at Your Leisure

