Relaxed Reading


I love nothing more than sitting back and relaxing with a book in my hand.  I fell in love with reading when I was a little girl and that love have stayed in my heart forever.

I remember being at my child minder’s and reading the books she had in her house.  I first learnt to read in my head there, when I was forced to stop saying the words out loud, as it was a bit of an annoyance to her daughter.  I was reading the tales of Greek mythology from an old book with a battered cover, but I enjoyed every minute of it.

I liked our trips down to the library, which allowed me to enter into a whole new world of books, and I looked forward to the book trail every summer.  I still have my book trail certificates now, which I like to look back on with nostalgia.

I would read mystery books, adventure stories, teenage novels and some romantic fiction.  I remember my first favourite author being Enid Blyton, as I could not get enough of her stories that focused on the adventures and exciting lives of children.  I loved the Famous Five, Secret Seven and The Faraway Tree series, but I think that her Malory Towers series had to be my favourite.  She had so many other great and special stories that brought your imagination to life.

Jacqueline Wilson later overtook Enid Blyton as my favourite author with her great selection of books.  I had to have every new book she released and I soon had a collection full of them.  Midnight, Diamond Girls, Lola Rose and The Illustrated Mum were my favourites, with Midnight being the ultimate favourite.  I would still pick up those books and read them now.

However, as I grew older, I developed a greater love for the classics.  I am slowly building up a collection of classic novels, some with beautiful hardback covers.  Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre is one of my favourites, and I really love Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens.

I also really enjoy reading historical fiction, especially the The Cousins’ War series by Philippa Gregory, and romantic fiction, like the Chesapeake Diaries series by Mariah Stewart.  I finished reading the third book in Stewart’s series today, because I was so engrossed in it that I could not bring myself to put it down.

Nevertheless, my favourite book ever has to be Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell and my favourite series has to be The Dollanganger series by Virginia Andrews.

Gone with the Wind is a special story with strong characters, a great setting and a gripping story that plays with your emotions throughout.  The same goes for the The Dollanganger series, which is deeply emotional and heartbreaking, whilst being extremely intriguing.  I loved every single one of the five books and I can’t wait to read them again.

Reading is a special activity, that allows me to relax and open up my imagination.  I have been taken to so many different countries, islands and faraway lands, while learning new words, pieces of information and wonderful stories that I can pass on to those around me.  Books are truly amazing and I would recommend everyone to get reading.

2 comments

  1. Once I learned to read, I kept my face in a book! My mother would tell me to put the book down, and go outside to play. I would go outside for a few minutes. Then I would go back to the apartment, and pick up the book and read some more. I have always loved to read. For that reason, I always got A’s in English. I was on the Dean’s List at least four times when I was in college. My first paper in college caused my professor to say I was writing for graduate work. He said he never had a paper from a freshman written so deeply. Of course, I got an A+! I still love to read. Now I read Inspirational Suspense Romance Novels. I waited until I was 59 before reading romance novels! Can you believe that? Well I did not get interested in romance novels until then. Before that time, they did not hold my interest. I loved Greek mythology. I love reading books on the Roman gods. To some degree, I love Science Fiction. I have not read a good Science Fiction book in a long time. I love classics. I just love to read!

Comment at Your Leisure

