Feelings of Happiness


I’ve felt really happy today.  The sun was shining brightly, it was comfortably warm and it was a beautiful day.  But what made this day all the more beautiful was the thought of my UConn ladies winning the National Championship last night for the second year in a row.  Now both the beautiful ladies and gorgeous men are champions in 2014.

The UConn ladies are a spectacular team, but I did not expect them to dominate Notre Dame the way that they did.  These were the best two teams in the country competing against each other in the pursuit of perfection, but it was UConn who showed that they are the ultimate woman’s basketball team this year.

UConn killed Notre Dame on the glass, whilst the Notre Dame defence had no answer for Stefanie Dolson or Breanna Stewart.  They were a complete team playing for one of the most amazing coaches in history, Geno Auriemma.

Watching a blowout wasn’t particularly brilliant, but I was just ecstatic about my team winning another championship and completing yet another perfect season.

However, the most special moment took place at the end of the game when UConn realised that they had won.  Watching seniors Stefanie Dolson and Bria Hartley emotionally embracing their coach,  Geno Auriemma, was a beautiful moment.  They had been through a lot over the years and there were tears all around; I know that I had tears in my eyes.

I am so happy for UConn’s basketball programme right now and I cannot wait to watch these teams play next year.  The players on the UConn ladies team will only continue to get better and that makes for another thrilling season for them.  Until then, I have to say farewell to college basketball.  I am really going to miss it.

One comment

Comment at Your Leisure

