In The Eye of the Beholder


It is said that “beauty is in the eye of the beholder”, which is a saying that I completely agree with.  Every individual has a different eye and various preferences.

My sister was on a social network and she told me that a guy said, “Don’t comment if you’re ugly”, but who is he to make that type of statement.  No one has a right to decide who’s ugly or not, because everyone’s ideals of beauty are different.  He may say that a girl is ugly, but another guy who sees her might disagree.

The same applies to the rules of attraction, as one person may say that an individual is attractive, but their friend might disagree.  The guys I am attracted to are very different to the guys that some of my friends are attracted to.  However, just because I find someone unattractive, it doesn’t mean that they’re not good-looking; they just don’t appeal to me.

I am also someone who does not think that any individual is ugly and I hate using that word to describe a person, which means that I use the words pretty, cute and good-looking quite often.  Although some people may be seen as prettier or better looking than others, we are all children of God and there is something pretty about every single one of us.

I think that there are a lot of very pretty female basketball players, but there are numerous individuals that insult them.  I agree that Idris Elba is good-looking, but I am not attracted to him and I struggle to understand the hype that so many females make about him.  I used to find Lil Wayne attractive and I now see the attractiveness of Morris Chestnut.  There are countless examples that I could give you, but it would get boring very quickly.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and we need to consider that, but we also need to look beyond the outer beauty of a person and concentrate a little more on the inner beauty that is sometimes looked over.  The beauty of a person’s heart and character really does make all the difference.

Comment at Your Leisure

