Shock


I sat with my mouth wide open in shock when I read about the death of L’Wren Scott two days ago.  She was a beautiful and talented woman whose life was gone too soon – she wasn’t even fifty yet.  L’Wren had so much more to give to the world, so I was horrified when I discovered that she had taken her own life.

This death really struck a chord with me, because L’Wren Scott was a fashion designer and fashion has a special place in my heart.  I originally wanted to be a fashion designer and although my career ambitions have changed, fashion is still incredibly important to me and I have never stopped loving it.  Any tragic thing that happens to a fashion designer will always tug at my heart-strings.

In the public eye, L’Wren was still at the high point of her career, very beautiful and in a relationship with one of the biggest rock stars in the world.  However, we don’t know what was going on behind closed doors and what problems she may have been facing.  News has come out that she was in millions of dollars of debt, which is enough to drive anyone into depression, but we don’t know if that is the main reason behind her death.

It is saddens me to think that L’Wren’s life had become such a burden on her, that she thought the only way out was to kill herself.  No one should have to go through that or get to that stage, but it just goes to show that all the fame and fortune in the world cannot buy you happiness, meaning or a sense of inner peace.

The fashion world are mourning the loss of a true talent, who made the transition from fashion model to a successful fashion designer.  Mick Jagger is mourning the loss of a partner he had spent over ten years with.  And her loved ones are mourning the loss of a friend and beloved family member.

L’Wren Scott was a statuesque beauty whose life ended prematurely, but at least she is finally at peace.  I hope that her legacy lives on and that when people say her name, this will not be the first thought of her that enters their mind.  RIP L’Wren Scott.

Comment at Your Leisure

