More Than Blood


As you know, I believe that family is not just about blood or DNA, but that it is so much more than that.  If family was only about blood or DNA, then adoption would not exist or some individuals would be forced to stay with a loveless “family”.

It is said that you can choose your friends but you can’t choose your family; however, I disagree with this statement.  Yes, you obviously choose your friends but you can also choose your family.  You may choose a family because your previous one was doing you harm or you simply might simply want to extend your family unit.

I have mentioned before that I have only one sister whose DNA I share, but I also have a number of other brothers and sisters that I have chosen to become a part of my family network.

One of this siblings is my big brother, D, who is a really special person that I am so glad to have in my life.  He has his flaws like everyone else, but he is one of the most genuine and sincere people I have come across.  With him, what you see is what you get and he does not talk simply for the sake of it.

We did not have the best of starts, but he has fully redeemed himself over the years and I am happy that I know him.  He is hilarious, extremely caring and one of the few people who I feel safe and very comfortable around.

He has shown how much he values me and how much he truly cares on numerous occasions.  He made a real effort when coming to the 21st birthday celebration I shared with my sister for our family.  He said that he wouldn’t have missed my second 21st birthday party for the world.  And a few days ago, he ensured that me, my sister and my friends reached home safely by arranging our cab home.

I am proud to call him my big brother and anyone would be lucky to have him in their life.  You’ll laugh, have great conversation and be well looked after.  I love D so, so much.  How fortunate for me that I was able to choose him as my family.

2 comments

Comment at Your Leisure

