God Help the Outcasts


God Help the Outcasts is the title of one of my favourite Disney songs from the film, The Hunchback of Notre Dame.  It is an emotional song with deep words and a powerful message that can touch and speak to the hearts of many of us today.

The character who sang this song in the film was the gypsy Esmeralda, whose people were treated like outcasts in society.  They were homeless individuals who performed to get by, which were not desirable qualities in Paris, where the film is set.

This is a song that warms my heart every time I hear it and when listening to it this week, it reminded me of the Sabbath School lesson I had also been studying during the week.

I had been studying about Jesus being a disciple to the outcasts of Biblical times, such as the sick, the demon possessed and the Samaritan woman at the well.  Jesus would help, speak, show compassion and offer love to everyone, especially the outcasts in society who were constantly ignored or looked down upon.

However, this selflessness also made Jesus a bit of an outcast too, which leads me to think of Esmeralda singing, “Yes, I know I’m just an outcast / I shouldn’t speak to you / Still I see Your face and wonder / Were You once an outcast too”.

When Jesus was crucified on the cross, He was treated like an outcast in one of the worst possible ways.  He had come down from His home on high and humbled himself just so that He could save us, but there are too many of us who puff ourselves up and make people feel so bad about themselves that they can’t come to Jesus and don’t think they have the right to speak to Him, just like Esmeralda.

We do not spend enough time looking out for the “outcasts” of society and showing them love, because we feel that they are too dirty or too messed up or not worth it.  Yet we spend time trying to impress those with authority or running after those with status or giving plenty of time to those with a spotless record.

We should be feeding the homeless, taking care of the sick, visiting people in prison and helping out those who have a lot less money than we do.  I have a friend in prison, who I still really care about in spite of her crime.  I write to her, I pray for her and I support her, although some individuals are very surprised that at this.

But no matter what she’s done, she is my friend and I’m not going to give up on her because she did something wrong.  What kind of Christian would that make me?  She’s not perfect, but neither am I, and I refuse to make out that her sins are bigger than mine.  What kind of world can we have if we don’t give people second chances or show them support?

Although we may not always show the “outcasts” support, God will never forget about them and He shows them support in ways we cannot imagine.  In God’s eyes, we are all His children and not one of us is any better than the other.  It does not matter if we are rich, poor, sick, in prison, royalty or a position in power.  At the end of the day, we all bleed the same blood.

Esmeralda sings it best with the words, “I thought we all were / The children of God / God help the outcasts / Children of God”.  Every single one of us is a child of God, so it should not only be God who is helping the outcasts.   We should be loving and helping each other.

2 comments

Comment at Your Leisure

