Something Special


“I look into the window of my mind / Reflections of the fears I know I’ve left behind”.  These are the first lines of Proud by Heather Small, which is one of my favourite songs.

I was listening to the radio a few days ago and I felt crazy happy and excited when I heard the familiar sounds of the piano and the drums.  It was unexpected, because this is a song that does not get played very often, but this is what makes it all the more special when you hear it.

I hadn’t heard this song for such a long time and singing along to it reminded me of just how much I love it.  Proud is a song with beautiful inspirational lyrics that will always be relevant, as well as a great use of soft music that continues to build throughout.

But what I love most about this song is the memories that it stirs up in my mind.  This was the theme song for London as they put their bid in for the 2012 Olympics, which they eventually went on to win and resulted in the hosting of the best Olympic Games ever.

I always look forward to when the Olympics come around, I love watching the events and I am saddened when it eventually comes to a close.  However, this song never fails to remind me of the Olympics and London 2012, which I had the privilege to be a part of.

Proud is not only one of my favourite songs, but it is also a song that has a special place in my heart.  “So I step out of the ordinary / I can feel my soul ascending / I’m on my way / Can’t stop me now / And you can do the same”.

Comment at Your Leisure

