Love


The feelings that I have for love are extremely strong.  Love is incredibly important and it means a whole lot more to me than a lot of people know.  I believe that the love we have and the love we share is essential in keeping this world going.  However, I don’t believe that we show enough of it.

As a Christian, love is at the centre of my beliefs.  I believe that God has an everlasting love for us and was willing to give His only son as a sacrifice to save us, which I cannot thank Him enough for.  And because of the great love God has demonstrated to us – who are so unworthy – He wants us to love those around us.

Loving those around us is not just saying that we love them with futile words, but showing that we love them so that the words have meaning.  This means being supportive, letting go of grudges, making people feel welcome, helping a person in need, saying something thoughtful, doing a good deed, being appreciative and showing kindness.

In this crazy sin-filled world – the church included – we do not show love as much as we should and we are suffering for it.  My heart bleeds as I wish that the world would display more love, which I know it can.  There are so many problems that could have been solved or prevented if love was at the basis of our actions.  There are so many individuals that could have been saved if they were shown the love they deserved.

I have a heart that has a ton of love to give to the world, as if I am trying to make up for all of the love that’s been lost.  I want to make a difference and ensure that even one person sees that they matter, because I have made the effort to show them love.  I hate feeling bad, lonely, down or invisible, so I would never want anyone to feel that way.

However, just as much as I want to show love, I also want to be loved.  Knowing that I’m loved and being shown love makes me feel warmer inside and brightens up any day; especially my dark days.

God’s love for me makes me feel special and know that I am worth something.  The love of my family means everything to me.  The love shown by my friends makes me feel better about myself and provides priceless support that I cannot find anywhere else.

Yet in spite of this, what I really want is to be loved by that special guy who I know I’ll spend the rest of my life with.  I’d be crazy in love with him and he’d be crazy in love with me, despite all my faults and my issues.  He’d love me in the way I’ve always wanted to be loved and I’d do the same for him.

But before I can find that special guy and be loved by him, I need to truly learn to love myself.  Yes, I’ve grown to like myself and I’m proud of who I am, but I don’t think I’ve fully grown to love myself.  I don’t show myself the love I deserve and I don’t see the amazing person I could be that so many around me can see.

I feel strongly for love.  Love is important and it needs to be present in every single one of our lives.  However, it needs to start within us and shine from the inside out.  We can’t fully love others if we don’t fully love ourselves first.

I hope we can all find the love that is deep within us and show it, so that we can try to make this world a brighter and happier place to live in…

Comment at Your Leisure

