Old-Time


I was just listening to Any Time, Any Place by Janet Jackson with my sister – which is a gorgeous song with gorgeous musicality – and it reminded me of a conversation I was having with my mum a couple of days ago.

We were both saying how we don’t like a lot of the music that is being released during the present time and we prefer old-time music.  When I say old-time music, I mean music from the 60s, 70s, 80s and 90s (and the maybe a little of the early noughties).

My mum thought it was her age, but I had to disagree and set her straight there, because I thought exactly the same thing.  In fact, my sister does too.

When I listen to the current RnB, Pop, Hip Hop and Rap – amongst other genres – there are only a small number of occasions when I am impressed.  The sound conveyed by a lot of artists does nothing for me and some of the content is simply annoying.  There are few artists that manage to excite me and there are not a lot of songs that I actually love.

I feel nostalgic when listening to songs of old, because you don’t hear sound like that anymore.  I’d be perfectly happy to sit back and listen to TLC, Kool and the Gang, Bon Jovi, 2Pac, Biggie, Luther Vandross and Eva Cassidy.  My ears love the sound of Michael Jackson, The Corrs, Marvin Gaye, Meatloaf, Alexander O’Neal, Maze ft Frankie Beverly, Will Smith and Ella Fitzgerald.

Bette Davis Eyes by Kim Carnes never fails to put a smile on my face and Avalon by Roxy Music has a soothing sound that automatically calms me.  The Mac Band’s Roses are Red is a feel good song for any occasion and Headsprung by LL Cool J always gets my hips moving.  Set It Off by Organized Noise reminds me of my favourite movie and Georgia on my Mind by Ray Charles is so beautiful and rich.

I could go on and on about old-time music, because it has so much to offer.  They are riches that the ear is fortunate enough to behold.  Although there are certain artists and some stand-out songs from this day and age that I hold in high esteem, it is old-time music that well and truly has my heart…

 

2 comments

Comment at Your Leisure

