Total Praise


There is a song that begins with the words: “Lord, I will lift mine eyes to the hills / Knowing my help is coming from You”.  This song is Total Praise, a well-known and frequently sung gospel song, which has a really powerful message that can relate to absolutely anyone in any lifetime.

“Your peace you give me in time of the storm” is then sung.  Whether this song is sung by a choir or a congregation during a worship service, it is always sung with heartfelt conviction.  The lyrics are a testimony for so many people and you can always feel the presence of God filling the room when it is sung.

Total Praise was sung during a concert I attended on Saturday and it was beautiful and dynamic.  You could see that the choir were giving their praises to God and you could feel the Holy Spirit moving in that hall.

Emotions were running high as people were touched and I was brought to tears as I also sang the words that mean so much to me: “You are the source of my strength / You are the strength of my life / I lift my hands in total praise to you”.

I am never more content than when I am praising my God, who really does deserve all my praise.  He is the source of my strength and the strength of my life, because I am nothing without Him.  My God has brought me to where I am today and I know that He is going to take me even further.  He holds me up when I am too weak to stand and He gives me courage when I am a fearful wreck.

My God is everything to me and after all He’s done, giving Him praise is the least I can do.  Singing the final words, “Amen, Amen, Amen, Amen”, allows me to give God that praise from the bottom of my heart with the simplest of terms as I lift my hands in total praise to Him…

Comment at Your Leisure

