It Could Be Worse


A few days ago, I sat reading an article in Vanity Fair about Sergey Aleynikov – a computer programmer who used to work for Goldman Sachs.  After leaving their company, Goldman Sachs accused Aleynikov of stealing computer code and he was wrongly sent to federal prison.

Although He is now a free man, Aleynikov had lost his job and life savings, his home and his marriage, and his reputation.  But in spite of all this, he seemed to radiate peace and positive energy, accepting his situation and not making it worse by weighing himself down with negativity.

Aleynikov was able to take something good from a horrible situation and he seems to be enjoying the life he’s living.  It’s inspiring to read about someone who lost so much, but is in such a good place and it really puts things into perspective for me.  No matter what I may be going through and how much I may be struggling, I need to remember that it could be worse.

It Could Be Worse is an uplifting song by James Fortune & FIYA that most of us can relate to.  After the first verse FIYA sing,  “So you may not have a mansion in a gated neighborhood / But at least you have a roof over your head”.

I love this part of the song, because it says so much in such simple terms.  We spend large amounts of our time complaining about what we don’t have and how much more we wish we had, but we have been blessed with so much already and there are many others who have a lot less than us.

However, what we need to do is “Praise now” because  “it could be worse”.  Life can be difficult sometimes and we all go through our own storms – I put my hands up and say that I’ve struggled and constantly put myself down.  But I know that I have many things to be thankful for, just like numerous other individuals who whine, complain and put themselves down.

So many of us act or feel like we are suffering through the worst possible situations and no one understands what we’re going through, when there are numerous other individuals in even worse situations.  My problems seem miniscule compared to theirs and makes me appreciate all the good that is in my life so much more.

FIYA sings the powerful words, “You’ve been waiting on your blessing / Don’t you know you’re already blessed / You should thank the Lord for what you already have / If it wasn’t for Jesus, tell me where would you be”.  This is my favourite part of the song and a smile is always present on my face whenever I sing the words.

In fact, these words are my testimony.  I see that I am incredibly blessed and I have to give the Lord all the praise for that, because without Jesus in my life I do not know where I’d be.  I probably wouldn’t even be here and if I was here, I’d most likely be in a dark place struggling to find my way out.

Just before FIYA sings “Praise now, it could be worse”, James Fortune sings “God is not attracted to your problems, He’s attracted to your praise”.  I think this is a special line in the song and I really love it, because it sums up that God wants us to stop dwelling in our problems and give Him the praise, no matter what we may be going through.

This thing called life is not easy.  There will always be obstacles in our way, trying to bring us down and making sure that we stay down.  Sergey Aleynikov faced a huge obstacle that tried to keep him down, but he was able to rise above it and make the most of the life he has now by staying positive.  After all, it could be worse.

 

Comment at Your Leisure

