Lovely Day


Yesterday I had a really lovely day; in fact, I had a really lovely Sabbath.  It was a good day full of various emotions, special moments and precious memories that will stay in my heart and my mind forever.

During divine service, I was truly blessed as the pastor preached another deep sermon that touched my heart.  Before beginning her sermon, she sang a powerful rendition of ‘He’s Been Faithful’, which was a beautiful and touching testimony.  She then opened up my mind again and helped me to see another story in the Bible in a way I’d never thought about.

As she preached about how Mary saw Jesus after He was resurrected and explained that Jesus was still on earth just because He knew that Mary could not be consoled until she had seen Him, it blew my mind.  Jesus was supposed to ascend to His father in Heaven immediately after His resurrection, but He stayed just because Mary needed Him.

Jesus was there for that one person who needed Him and He will be there for any of us, which is why it is essential for us to have a relationship with Him.  The pastor emphasised that Jesus loves every single one of us.  Jesus loves me and He wants to be my friend.  He wants to have a relationship with me.

By the end of the message, I was moved to tears and felt the Holy Spirit tugging on my heart, but something held me back.  I was happy to see many of my friends and my brother who usually doesn’t come to church go up for the altar call, stirring up more emotions for me, but I felt paralysed to move.  However, God wasn’t finished with me yet.

I was then excited to see an old friend who I’ve got a lot of love for and have really missed.  It was great to see him at church and I enjoyed having a nice catch-up with him.  I love friends that I can actually have good conversations with, it is something that always brings a smile to my face.

After spending time with my beautiful family and catching up with my cousins over lunch, I attended a baptism that will hold a special place in my heart forever.

It was emotional to watch three of my friends – three people who I love – get baptised, especially one of my closest friends who has a really special place in my heart.  I’ve watched him grow and mature into one of the most unique and amazing people I know, and I was so proud of him for taking this step in his life.  He has to know that I wouldn’t have missed it for the world.

But as I said, God wasn’t finished with me yet.  As the baptism drew to a close and the pastor made her final heartfelt appeal for the campaign, the Holy Spirit began tugging at my heart-strings again.  I didn’t want to get up because of the fear I was feeling and my heart was racing, but there was a voice telling me to go.

I’ve been making plans to get baptised ever since I went to camp meeting, but I’ve just been trying to figure out when I want it to happen.  Baptism is extremely important to me and it is one of the biggest events that will take place in my life, so I don’t want to rush into it.  I want to make sure that I get it right.

But God was telling me something, so my cousin held my hand and went up with me, as I made the decision to get baptised at the next baptism.  However, what made it more special was that my sister went up as well, which I was not expecting.  I’m glad she’s decided to take that step as well.

I know this is the right decision and I won’t look back, I’m only looking forward.  God knew it was meant to be already, as He gave a sign to the pastor of our church who saw the faces of me and my sister in his mind that morning.  As per usual, God knows what is right for me before I do and I appreciate that.

Yesterday really was a lovely day, but it was not only a lovely day; it was a special Sabbath.  It was a special Sabbath that I will treasure and will be in my thoughts forever…

Comment at Your Leisure

