Critics


We will always come across critics as we go throughout our lives.  They may be friends, family, colleagues, teachers, strangers and worst of all, ourselves.

I know that I am my own worst critic, which leads to me being very hard on myself.  I am always able to see the bad in what I do, but I will struggle to see the good.  If I am critiquing work I’ve carried out or something I’ve done, the bad will usually outweigh the good, and the bad will usually outweigh the good, by far.

Although I regularly criticise what I do, I almost always point out what needs to be improved or ask for advice on what I can do to make improvements.  This helps me to learn from my mistakes and do better in the future, which is all I really want.

I also love to receive constructive criticism, because this gives me something to work on and shows me that there is always something new to learn.  I would never want to feel like I know everything and getting constructive criticism means there is new information I need to take on board.  I think I would even go as far to say that I thrive of constructive criticism.

However, I need to be slightly easier on myself, as being so hard on myself isn’t always a good thing and I do not allow myself to see how great I can be – someone else always has to do it for me.  My strong sense of self-criticism also leads to a loss of self-belief at times, which then leads to a loss of confidence, and this is never a good thing.

We will constantly have to face critics and most of the time, we will be our own harshest critic.  I know I am, but this is mainly because I strive to be the best I can be and I critique myself, to ensure that I do better and don’t go on to make the same mistakes again.  I just need to stop being such a harsh critic to stop myself from being my own worst enemy.

Comment at Your Leisure

