Rejection


Rejection is something I really struggle with.  In fact, I would probably go as far as saying that it is rejection that has held me back the most throughout my life.

The fear of rejection has held me back when looking for a job, as I had been rejected so many times before and I did not want to be told no again.  The constant feelings of rejection when applying for work placements just made me feel that I wasn’t good enough, and I did not want to feel like that ever again.

Feeling or being rejected by those around me has also dampened my confidence over the years, making me a shadow of my former self and lessening my self-esteem.  I felt that friends would reject me by turning their backs on me, just because I was honest with them and told them the truth in a way that no one else would.

Others would leave me behind and act like I didn’t exist, because I wasn’t as popular as those closest to me or because I had offended the friend others looked to as a “leader”.  And there were the ones who wouldn’t even take the time to get to know me, because I was too quiet to speak up or because I was overbearingly confident and happy, making my personality difficult to handle.

There was also the feeling of rejection by guys, which is one of the hardest kinds of rejection to face.  It’s not nice feeling rejected by the guys you like, while they run after your friends who are so much prettier and more dynamic than you.  It’s hard being rejected by a guy you not only like, but also professes to like you back, only to leave you hanging on while he messes around.

But what really hurts, is feeling regularly rejected by the only guy who’s taken the time to truly understand you, get to know you and grown to like you for who you are.  You fall for him and eventually grow to love him, but he never notices and you are never able to get it together, making you wonder what it would take for him to be with you and love you back.

Rejection is painful.  Rejection has cut me deep.  But rejection is a part of life.  Rejection is a part of my life, but I’m going to have to take it in my stride and deal with it.  Because at the end of the day, rejection will make me stronger…

One comment

Comment at Your Leisure

