Family


Family means everything to me.  After God, they are the most important thing in my life.  My family are my support system, and while God is my backbone, they are the crutches I lean on when I cannot stand on my own.  If I didn’t have my family surrounding me over the past few years, I don’t think I would have been able to stay as strong and make it through the two difficult years of uni.

Even when I am having issues with a family member, I will look out for them when they are in trouble and back them up if someone is speaking bad about them.  No matter what is happening between us at the time, we are still family and that is a bond that will never break.

However, I believe that there is more to family than just blood.  Loyalty, love, selflessness, caring qualities and looking out for each other are qualities that help create a family bond, not just the sharing of DNA.

There are many people in my life who are my family, but we are not blood related.  They hold a special place in my heart and it is through particular situations, as well as our growing relationships, that have led to them becoming my family.  I have one biological sister, but I have many brothers and sisters in my life, who are also very important to me.

Family is special and they should not be taken for granted.  We should show love to each other and sort out any problems that arise in the best way possible, in order to maintain the best relationships.  There is nothing worse than having a fractured relationship, or no relationship at all, with a family member.  It hurts like crazy, because to me.  Family is everything…

2 comments

Comment at Your Leisure

