Blessed


When listening to the song, ‘Blessed and Highly Favoured’ by the Clark sisters, there are two parts of the song that really stand out and speak to me.

The chorus, “Don’t take it for granted that we are here today/ Just know that we’re blessed and highly favored/ Just know that we’re blessed and highly favored”, is short but extremely powerful.  I believe that we are all on this earth for a reason and God has a plan for every single one of us, but it is up to us if we choose to follow that plan.

Even though this world can be a horrible place to be in and so many bad things are occurring everyday, we should feel blessed to even be alive when so many others have lost their lives.  I also know that God has great riches in store for me, so I not only feel blessed, but I also feel favoured, which is why this chorus holds such a special place in my heart.

Later in the song they sing, “It coulda’ been me/ It shoulda’ been me/ It woulda’ been me if it wasn’t for the blood”.  When hearing this part of the song, it always makes me feel very emotional and I have a lot of feeling whenever I sing it out loud, because of the special place it has in my heart.

I am so unworthy, but Jesus gave his blood and died on the cross for me, just so that I would not die when I sinned and that I may also have the gift of eternal life.  I also know that if it wasn’t for Jesus in my life, I wouldn’t be here right now, because I would have given up a long time ago, which is why words like these mean so much to me.

The Lord has blessed me with so much, and I need to make sure I remember that every single day, as I complain about the “lack” of clothes in my wardrobe or the overbearing tiredness from my anemia, when there are others who have so much less than I have.  There are so many of us who are more blessed than we realise and need to give thanks for what we have, before we lose it all.

Comment at Your Leisure

